Material Research and Experiments

I’ve been talking for the past few weeks about all the experiments I’ve been doing- testing out new construction methods, image transfer techniques, forms, and colours. Part of the current assignment for my project is to do extensive material and technological research (not only doing the research, but also extensively documenting it and turning it into a research booklet), so I’ve currently got almost 150 photos of the processes I’ve been testing out. Rather than subjecting you to 150 photos (AND giving away all my process secrets!), here are selected photos of a few of the more successful experiments I’ve had recently:

One thing I’ve been working on with the chandelier pieces is trying to figure out a way to highlight the details of each element: when it’s all in white, you just see the overall form, but as soon as there’s colour added (and selectively removed), the details suddenly pop:

White Chandelier

Blue Chandelier

After seeing a lot of blue-and-white china at the V&A (as well as some lovely blue-and-white fabrics in their textiles index!) I decided I’d try out the blue-and-white motif with these. I experimented with black dye and grayscale (pictured below), but I felt like it made the pieces look dirty. I feel like the blue is so much more successful with these pieces.

Grayscale Experiment

Greyscale Test Piece

Blue Test Piece

So I’m really happy with the solution of using the blue-and-white look for the chandelier pieces- what do you think? What colour would you use if you could choose any colour for these chandelier pieces? If you have a colour to suggest, I’ll try it out and post photos of the results in my next post.

I also did some more experiments with image transferring, using it as a way to make the “lace” pieces more exciting and add another dimension of detail to them- again, I feel like this is really successful and I’m excited about doing more with this and making some really interesting and exciting final pieces!

Lace Image Transfer (click photo for larger version- it's difficult to see the image transfer in the small size)

Image Transfer Lace

So there we go- these are just a few photos of the more successful developments for my project. I’m thrilled with all the variations I’m discovering and I’m looking forward to turning all these tests into new, exciting pieces of jewellery. Thanks for reading!

I leave for Amsterdam on Saturday and will get back at the beginning of April. We’ll see how things go, but I’d imagine that you can expect photos and an update about Amsterdam the first week in April. Not too long after that (when I’ve had a chance to get back into the studio!) I’ll hopefully be showing some finished pieces of jewellery based on some of this new research!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Material Research and Experiments

  1. The color looks GREAT! I love the blue and white. I think a burnt or rust orange would look pretty cool also. It’s so exciting to see how the pieces are developing. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Nancy

    I also think the blue and white was successful; you got it on the first try. I was also wondering about an amethyst purple; and was going to suggest turquoise or a bluish-green, but the blue you have already suggests those shades I think. The lace transfer is amazing; I think it works beautifully.

  3. P. Rowe

    I agree that the black/gray doesn’t work. Makes the plaster look like bone fragments. Of course, you know that I love that blue and white. I’d be interested to see what a rich turquoise would look like.

  4. Grandmother Henry

    When,by popular demand, you go into mass production (!!), how about a kaleidoscopic coloration, for one of your offerings??
    Like thsy aay, “Variety is the spice of life”. After your Amsterdam experience you may go Delft daft !!

  5. Jenn

    Indigo blue or a coral pink. I alos kind of like the greyscale ones… do you use a liquid dye or suspend pigments?

    These look great!

  6. I adore the blue and white! I think most colors would look fabulous, but I’d love to see a deep red. Great post!

Leave a Reply

