More Pieces

So here’s an overview of what I’ve been working on this week: I’ve got a lot of “in progress” pieces right now (“in progress” meaning that they’re all finished except for putting a clasp mechanism on them, which I find dreadfully boring, albeit necessary!). I forced myself to finish off some of the in-progress pieces yesterday, but I still have 3 pieces waiting for me to figure out what kind of clasp I want to put on them. In the jewellery world, the type of clasp you put on a necklace is one of the most important parts of the piece- the more original and “invisible” it is (“invisible” meaning it blends into the piece and adds to it, rather than just being an afterthought), the more respect you get from the jewellers who look at your work. That’s been a bit of a challenge, but I’m determined to keep at it. Here’s the piece I finished the clasp for yesterday:

William Morris Necklace

Here’s a photo of it with the clasp undone: basically, there is a piece of tubing attached to the back of the oval agate- that bit of tubing snaps into the slot at the bottom of the brass oval to clasp it.

William Morris Necklace, open

The 4 large patterned pieces on the necklace are patterns taken from William Morris’ fabric and wallpaper patterns. I also added gemstones and beads in places where I wanted to “dress up” the patterned panels:

William Morris, detail

This is a photo of an “in progress” necklace: I spent several hours yesterday laser welding the silver chain together. I haven’t cleaned and polished the chain and connected it to the plaster yet, but the components of the necklace were finished enough that I could put it together for a photo- I’ll be working on finishing that one up this week, but I thought I’d go ahead and post a photo of it:

Lacy Necklace

The clasp was much easier to integrate on this piece: all I had to do was leave one of the scrolls open so it can be hooked into the eye of another piece.

Another thing I did was look at all the test pieces I still have all over my desk- when I was figuring out how to do all these new processes, I made hundreds (if not thousands?) of test pieces to make sure I could use each new process (image transfers, etching/engraving, colour washes…) consistently well. Yesterday I spent some time putting these test pieces into small compositions- I added other decorative elements (beads, found objects, things I had in my toolbox…) and created a series of “Collections”. I’m not entirely sure what to do with these Collections yet- none of these collections are big enough to turn into a necklace, so I’m thinking maybe I’ll make a series of brooches? Can’t decide… Anyway, I’m sure I’ll end up doing something with them soon and then I’ll be able to post photos of the finished product: here are photos of some of the collections I’ve put together:

Collection 1

Collection 2

Collection 3

Collection 4

Collection 5

Collection 6

Collection 7

Collection 8

Collection 9

4 Comments

Filed under grad school, jewellery, jewelry

4 responses to “More Pieces

  1. Oh Miriam, I love this turn in your jewelry! Your pieces have so much character and class. I can’t wait to see them in person. :)

  2. Pamela Rowe

    I”ve given up trying to figure out which is my favorite piece.

    Also, I love the idea of using scraps of different materials to create a new artistic whole. Jewelry crazy-quilt.

  3. Grandmother H.

    “Gorgeous !” was my immediate exclamation, and I couldn’t even try to single out a favorite.

  4. Cassondra

    I keep looking at collection 7 and not understanding why this wouldn’t make a good necklace. If you think it’s to small, perhaps a bracelet, I could easily see these pieces affixed to a metal cuff, and cuffs are so in right now. Or maybe a child’s size necklace would be better. Children like to look good too.

Leave a Reply

